if only you'd come over

I wish I lived in Australia.

Christmas in the summertime, baby-stealing dingos, Nicole Kidman, big giant jumping mice that scare the shit out of Sylvester the cat.....oh yeah. That'd be the life.

I like the way they say words that end with the long "oh" sound. like "No" and "crow" and "got any blow?". It's even funnier than the Canadian "out" sound. I think those canucks only talk like that around us yankees because they know we find it funny. It's like they have to keep up appearances - constantly reminding us that they talk funny or else we'd forget all about them.

I once moved to Athens so I could rest in the knowledge that somewhere, within five miles of me, sat Vic Chesnutt. That was my only reason for moving there.

Now I'd like to move to Australia to know that I live amongst the Lucksmiths.

And to nail Nicole Kidman. She knows she wants a taste of Lil' Fu-Fu. I can see it in her eyes.

Suddenly I'm lonely.

August 28, 2001 | 6:16 p.m.

last entry :: next entry