i never go far without a little big star

I sure wish it was snowing where I lived. It's just not fair that some people get to run and frolic and be giddy in the snow while I have to sweat on the drive home because my air conditioning hasn't worked for three years.

My only consolation is that today is Big Star Wednesday. If I had my own radio station every Wednesday would be Big Star Wednesday. There's nothing quite like riding through town with windows rolled down listening to The Ballad of El Goodo at the loudest possible volume your car will go without bursting a speaker.

This girl came by my desk today to ask me if I was gonna go in with the team to help support a needy family from the rescue mission this Christmas (I am) and she looked down and said "Who is this? I've never heard of Big."

I said, "It's Big Star."

She said, "Hmm."

I said, "So, yeah...okay. Sure. Just let me know what you need from me when everything gets planned."

She stood there and looked at me and said, "So what do they sing?"

So I gave her the whole spiel about the opening song on That 70's Show and blah blah blah and she said, "Oh. I don't watch that. It's too trashy."

I just looked at her.

Finally she walked away.

November 28, 2001 | 4:32 p.m.

last entry :: next entry