my art college days are over

The advances in cat litter technology excite me.

We now have our cats pooping into a pan lined with silica, the very same stuff you get in packages sometimes that says "do not eat" but I guess it's okay to poop and pee on.

Plus the granules are too big to get caught in between their toes and carried all over the house...and I went out and bought a litter box with a cover so they can't kick that shit everywhere.

The older I get, the more I get excited by things such as this.

Right now I'm seriously considering just leaving work and going home and painting the bathroom so that when my wife gets home she'd be all "Oooh, you painted the bathroom," and I'd get to see her smile because when I talked to her earlier she sounded kind of down about something and she said she'd call me back but hasn't yet so I'm sitting here wondering what's wrong. She'll probably just say "I'm tired," but I'm still sitting here worrying.

Plus, it doesn't help matters that I have the Notice Blues. I gave my notice here last week and I'm just waiting out the end of this week.

I wore my Chuck Taylors to work today when I'm not supposed to wear sneakers except on Fridays.

On the way out the door this morning I turned to Cristi and said, "They're playing by my rules this week," and pointed towards my shoes at which point she called me a rebel.

I think she was being sarcastic.

She wouldn't be so sarcastic if she saw that not only did I wear my sneakers today but also I'm sitting here not doing a goddamn thing and I even stole a pen and threw away a piece of work someone had laid on my desk over the weekend.

What are they gonna do? Fire me?

I think I might even go take a stinky here in a sec and not only will I not flush but I might not even ring the bowl.

They're gonna be sorry they ever fucked with me.

Plus, I brought some leftover coconut curry chicken from Bahama Breeze for lunch today and I'm gonna heat it up in the microwave and stink up the whole fucking building and I don't care. And on top of that, I'm not gonna take my lunch til 1:30 after everyone else has already come back from theirs so everyone will smell it.

And they'll all walk into the breakroom and look around and there I'll be with a big ol' shit eating grin on my face and a middle finger in the air.

Or maybe I won't.

I never have been one to cause a scene.

July 22, 2002 | 10:56 a.m.

last entry :: next entry