dial L for love

Cristi and I decided on Friday afternoon, between calls to each other at work, that we needed to get out of town for the night. After much debate and a very heated argument concerning the nature of money and what little we had, we decided to go to Tulsa.

I know. I know. You're thinking "Tulsa!?! WOO-HOOOO! What a city!" but we needed to go somewhere close to home because we had to be back the next evening in order to watch our nephew, Zayne. And, hey, if Tulsa is good enough for the Hanson brothers, it's good enough for me.

So we drove to Tulsa and checked in at the Hilton right across from a gigantic statue of two praying hands that sat in front of Oral Roberts University.

As for the rest of Oral Roberts University, at least from the view we had from our sixth floor window across the street, it looked like the Jetsons. It was all space age and shit and I expected to see a little flying car come flying in and drop Elroy out of the bottom.

But, I'm happy to say that not one single person called me Brother Fu-Fu and I didn't see one single WWJD bracelet. I was kinda scared at least one of those things was gonna happen within five minutes of our arrival.

I also did not see hide nor hair of any Hanson. And believe me....I had my eyes peeled.

We woke up the next morning and went shopping a bit at Restoration Hardware cause Cristi saw the Fab 5 talking about it on Queer Eye and she had to go. It was a pretty cool place. Kinda Pottery Barnish but with cooler stuff. They had a lot of reproductions of older things like record players and transistor radios. I bought a cool screwdriver and a book entitled 1000 Record Covers that I plan on placing in the bathroom.

From there we went to Wolf Camera and bought a digital camera. Just out of the blue we decided we needed one. So I suspect that there'll be more postings of pictures on both her and my websites.

Then we went to the new Oklahoma Aquarium, which is the reason we decided to come to Tulsa anyway. I won't go into detail, except to say there was a lot of glass, a lot of water, and a lot of fish. But it was cool.

We were driving through Jenks, OK looking for a place to eat and Word Up by Cameo started playing on the radio in the car. So we looked at eachother and started singing because, really, who can't sing along to Word Up.

We decided on this Chinese restaurant and we ordered our food and right when we started eating what did we hear coming from the in store speakers? It was Word Up by Cameo.

I turned to her and said "You know...if we hear this song one more time today it's gonna be a sign" and she said "A sign of what? That you need to buy a codpiece?" and I fell in love all over again.

So, to recap, we went to Tulsa and didn't see Hanson, we bought a new camera and saw a lot of fishies, and we ate Chinese food while Cameo played in the background.

Good times.

August 24, 2003 | 8:46 a.m.

last entry :: next entry