the hour grows late

So there I was watching Antiques Roadshow and all of a sudden the TV was all "Yo, funk this! I'm outta here, Cracka!" and it went all snowy on me.

So I came into my room and dragged out that big blue chest that sits in my closet looking to see if I had anything that could make me rich. I didn't. Unless there's an underground market for bent Uno cards and dry, crumbling Floam.

But, I did find something I had been looking for ever since I moved here and I was afraid I had lost it forever...the ticket stub to the belle and sebastian show in Athens.

I never saw the Smiths before they broke up. I did see Morrissey a couple of times before he turned to shit, but it wasn't the same. So, the B&S show was my revenge on the Smiths. It was one of those things where if I'm ever in a fight I can go "Oh yeah...well I saw Belle & Sebastian live, Motherfucker! Who have you seen? Oh, Yo La Tengo? Not bad. Not bad at all. But I've seen them seven times, Motherfucker! Who else you got? Huh? Huh? Magnetic Fields? Oh, you're good. But not good enough, Fool. I saw them three times. Once they did a THREE AND A HALF HOUR show in which they covered both Bela Lugosi's Dead AND More Than A Feeling, BITCH!"

I can't lose. If only I COULD get into a fight about shows. The women who would be witness to it would be all over me like ugly on Mick Mars.

And I got really drunk at the Arab Strap show, but I think they probably preferred it that way.

August 31, 2001 | 9:06 p.m.

last entry :: next entry