where did you go after the parade?

PARADE

where did you go after the parade?
i wandered, searching, for about an hour
then i parked it on a bench, shifting and sulking.
those pesky little mosquitos, they nearly drained me.
then a man dripping with vitalis
said i looked like joe namath.
he asked me did i used to be famous
and i said, "neighbor, i'm famously late."

where did you go after the parade?
you never even appeared to enjoy it.
i came out of it with a slight experience,
drinking and howling at the natives.
you're great at disappearing.
you left me with an ear ache.
i spit into the swan lake
saying, "what a hideous review!"

weather, barometric pressure push me to the ground.
my stomachache is growling.
i always heard this was such a festive town
but everybody over ten years old is frowning.

where did you go after the parade?
i didn't expect you to be bolting away.
remember that time you took me to see harold and maude
'cause i didn't know the meaning of the word catharsis?

we are busy weaklings poking around for reasons!
we are happy little heathens!
it's just time we both admit it!

~vic chesnutt

September 10, 2001 | 11:26 p.m.

last entry :: next entry