...and tomorrow the world

I�m gonna try and convey something here in as few words as possible because I have a tendency to ramble.

As I was telling someone last night, while watching the news for five hours yesterday the only thing that made everything hit home and bring tears to my eyes was the image of that man and woman falling through the sky hand in hand. I mean, everything else was devastating, but not having any emotional connection to anyone in that area of the country, I was kind of removed from the whole thing.

What made it so very depressing was I thought of those two people and how it felt to know that whether they jump or stay, they were certain to die. I mean, I don�t know how it would feel to be alive one minute and then knowing the next minute I would be dead. They were dead before they hit the street, and they knew it. I couldn�t imagine looking someone in the eye, taking their hand, and thinking �This is it. I love you. You ready?�

And I�d like to think that while they were floating in the air, that it was the most peaceful they had ever felt in their entire life.

And Sturge was right. Imagine and What A Wonderful World helped falling asleep a bit easier last night. I know they�re cliched songs to fit this sort of situation, but I can�t help feeling that a clich� becomes a clich� because it�s tried and true.

I�ve gotta get back to work. Me and a girl I work with are giving blood on our lunch break. I can�t do much, but I can do that.

September 12, 2001 | 11:34 a.m.

last entry :: next entry