maybe by the evening we'll be laughing. just wait & see.

CURSES TO COLUMBUS DAY!

I don't know who it is, but someone in my office that sits over by the window laughs just like the Pillsbury Dough Boy when someone jabs him with a finger.

Every fifteen minutes I hear a loud, shrill "HOO-HOO"

At first I found it amusing, but now it's gotten to the point where I want to track them down and give them a mean look. That's all I'm capable of really. I wish I had it in me to hit them upside the head and say "Quit that tomfoolery!" but I don't.

Today at lunch I saw a girl accidentally squirt EZ Cheez on her shirt, which struck me as odd because 1) why would anyone want to eat that stuff? and 2)it's not like it shoots out at an amazingly high speed.

It seems to me there would have been plenty of warning that the "cheez" was heading in a direction she'd rather it didn't.

But it did remind of this time when I was in high school and we went to my friend Rae's house one weekend to find her still asleep.

So one of my friends rummages through the pantry and finds a can of EZ Cheez and sneaks up to her room and very quietly paints her phone with it, all over the ear piece and everything. Then he comes back down and we call her from the kitchen (she had her own line) and we heard this loud scream...coming from both upstairs in her room and through the phone line.

She ran downstairs with EZ Cheez all in her hair and on her face and promptly kicked us out.

Then we went to Taco Bell.

Good times. Good times.

Everday on my drive home from work I pass this homeless man sitting on the curb in front of Applebee's by the mall. And he's there every single day sitting in the same exact place and he always looks so lonely. I've taken to waving at him to try and cheer him up.

But today when I drove by, there was a homeless lady sitting with him and they were holding hands.

It made me feel good.

October 08, 2001 | 4:30 p.m.

last entry :: next entry