superfluous nipple

Today is a Dylan Time Out Of Mind listening, 12 pack of Red Stripe drinking, Haruki Murakami Norwegian Wood reading, sitting on the front porch kind of day and there ain't shit I can do except sit back and roll with it.

I went to the bookstore today, hoping to beat those little Pokemon fuckers, but I was too late. They were everywhere. I literally had to step over them to get to the section of the magazines I wanted, only to find out that they still didn't have the new issue of MOJO. I felt like registering a complaint but I decided against it. Not about the magazine not being there, but about the little Pokemon kids.

Every Saturday they allow these little punks to gather in every nook and cranny of the store and trade cards, or play cards, or whatever the fuck it is you do with those cards. It used to be fun to sit back and look at all the geeky little twelve year olds scamming a six year old out of some prized card and thinking to myself "Someday soon, Son, you'll discover the beauty of vagina....and then you'll forget all about those silly little monsters."

But now it's just plain aggravating.

I mean, I played with G.I. Joes and Transformers and Go-Bots and Atari and collected some baseball cards here and there, but these little kids today border on creepy what with all this stuff they're into. What happened to sending off bar codes for the hooded Cobra Commander, or tracking down that elusive Optimus Prime, or beating the snot out of your sister whether it be in real life with fists and feet or during a heated Frogger competition, or just having a plain, old-fashioned dirt clod fight?

I miss the good old days. These kids today don't know what they've missed out on.

November 10, 2001 | 2:49 p.m.

last entry :: next entry