country roads take me home

I hate interstate highways.

Every goddamn morning I have to hop on one and fight the traffic and the pot holes for thirty minutes because I work all the way in the city while Squeeks just has to drive about three minutes in town whistling all the way.

And I hate it even more in the afternoon fighting all the other people trying to get home.

And the roads are so fucking horrible here. Today I literally pulled over on to the side of the interstate because I was absolutely positive that I had a flat tire. But I didn't. It was that damn concrete block type of roadway that goes ba-dump-ba-dump-ba-dump and you rock back and forth.

But this one was the worst I've ever been on. That's why I thought I had a flat.

And the reason I was on this stretch of interstate that I had never been on before was because I decided today to try out this back road that I had heard about that would take me all the way home without having to deal with traffic. I've been hesitant to take it thinking it would take me an hour to get home but today i was "FUCK IT!"

Oh my god it was the most pleasant driving experience of my life. I saw horses. I saw cows. I saw some other shit that I can't remember....I was even behind a school bus going 40 half the way and I didn't give one tiny shit. I could just cruise along and not worry about some fuck cutting me off or going too slow in the fast lane....this was just a two lane road so if someone was going slow there was no reason to get mad.

And it only took me about three minutes longer to get home than interstate travel does.

I'm taking it to work in the morning.

Oh...and it's called Sunnylane Road.

Perfect.

April 15, 2002 | 5:13 p.m.

last entry :: next entry