my back hurts

Me and Squeeks woke up at four-a-damn-thirty this morning cause we had to be downtown by 6 to help set up and run the Race for the Cure.

One of her relatives has his own business that does all the timekeeping at all the major races all over the state so he paid us 55 bucks a piece to come down and help out.

First I had to move a whole lot of shit and then we stood around for a bit and then we had a little free time so I went and had a crap in one of the port-a-potties because Squeeks said right before the race all the racers are gonna be standing in line to shit and I wasn't gonna wanna go in there afterwards.

It amazes me how much port-a-potties don't stink. I mean, there were no less than three turds staring up at me when I went in there and I didn't smell nothing!

So when the race started I had to stand at the finish line typing in as many runners as I could on this little ten-key dealie and all Squeeks had to do was to click a clicker.

Let me reiterate - I was holding a twenty pound piece of metal with one hand for an hour and fifteen minutes and Squeeks was doing about as much work as you would if you were on Jeopardy.

Some of it was pretty emotional. One of the finish line chutes was for survivors of breast cancer only and a couple of the women were crying when they crossed.

Since 1999 I have worked in the Cancer department of some insurance company or another and I get letters all the time saying "My beautiful wife passed away yesterday" or "I lost my husband" and at first it was kind of sad to read those all the time but then you get desensitized.

But today, to see it in person, shed new light on it I think.

Although, if truth be known, I tried not to look every time someone hollered "Here comes a survivor!" because I knew I would get all teary and I had two HOT ASS POM POM GIRLS standing beside me writing down times and I didn't want them to think I was a total puss!

I'm just kidding about them being hot.

They were in high school and they looked not so much like they had applied make-up but rather put on a mask.

I was tempted to break out my pocket knife and start peeling that shit off them.

So after the race we got a lot of free water and free bananas and oranges and free yogurt and we had to pack all the computer equipment, banners, tables, and all kinds of other shit back into the truck and we was dog ass tired.

We came back to town and went to eat Chinese and came home and fell asleep.

Aiight! Halftime's over. Gotta get back to the living room.

October 05, 2002 | 8:41 p.m.

last entry :: next entry