there's a tiger in these tight fittin' jeans

Conway Twitty is so goddamn raunchy!

My childhood was spent listening to Conway in my dad's car and on his record player, and I used to sing along to Hello Darlin' and You've Never Been This Far Before and one of the greatest songs of all time, Slow Hand...but not until this very day have I ever really looked through all the sexual innuendo and discovered that he's just singing about deflowering virgins and touching his wife's best friend's hoo-ha.

Which leads me to a pet peeve of mine.

I find it so funny when I hear the term "making love" in a song because every time I do, in my mind I replace it with "fucking" because, really, that's what they're saying.

When Bad Company sang Feel Like Making Love, what they were saying is they felt like fucking. And very much so.

When KC & The Sunshine Band sang "Do a little dance...make a little love...get down tonight," they were really singing about dancing and then going home to fuck a little.

When Boyz II Men sang I'll Make Love To you, it was just I'll Fuck You in language your mom could listen to.

Air Supply have built an entire career on songs about fucking.

But since these bands say "making love" instead of "fucking", it's ok. I'll bet if 2 Live Crew had a song called Welcome To The Making Love Shop, they would still be censored.

2 Live Crew. Now there was a band.

I would like to have heard Conway, God rest his soul, do a cover of Face Down Ass Up.

Cause I just know that's how he liked it.

May 03, 2004 | 6:35 p.m.

last entry :: next entry